Oh.. that’s where all my plastic s#*t ends up !

10 03 2008

I’ve found ‘away’.

I’ve mentioned before that David Suzuki’s phrase there is no ‘AWAY’  !” has stuck with me over the decades (as in ‘I threw it away‘). Well.. he’s wrong. I’ve finally found ‘away’. It’s a place in the Pacific Ocean where frightening quantities of plastic detritus circulate, and will probably continue to do so well after our bones turn to dust.

Plastic contamination in the world’s oceans is worse than previously imagined and no amount of technology can clean it up, according to Charles Moore. The oceanographer returned February 23 from a five-week odyssey in the Pacific Ocean with samples showing 48 parts plastic for every part of plankton…

Read the rest over at CNET green tech.

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 03 2008
Ruth

Goddam it Verduous… you sure have a way of depressing the hell out of me….!

14 03 2008
Verdurous

Oh…don’t say that Ruth,

I don’t mean to be depressing. OK. I promise the next entry will be a good news story.

26 03 2008
Dennis Anthony

All plastic rendezvousing at a point in the Pacific! – wonderful news, the best I’ve heard in yonks. Just get there and suck/collect it all up and burn it in an efficient non polluting energy producing power station – problem solved.

I now know where to throw my plastic, in the sea.
Thanks for that.

26 03 2008
Verdurous

Now, there’s a patent with your name on it Dennis.

1 04 2008
adrian2514

Hey thanks for the great blog, I love this stuff. I don’t usually do much for Earth Day but with everyone going green these days, I thought I’d try to do my part.

I am trying to find easy, simple things I can do to help stop global warming (I don’t plan on buying a hybrid). Has anyone seen that http://www.EarthLab.com is promoting their Earth Day (month) challenge, with the goal to get 1 million people to take their carbon footprint test in April? I took the test, it was easy and only took me about 2 minutes and I am planning on lowering my score with some of their tips.

I am looking for more easy fun stuff to do. If you know of any other sites worth my time let me know.

Leave a Reply

