Assault on Reason – Al Gore

23 05 2007

An inconvenient truth

I reprint below a letter I received for those registered at AlGore.com .  Take a look at Al’s journal too at blog.algore.com

Dear  [name removed],
In the months following the release of An Inconvenient Truth, I began to focus on why our democracy has been so slow to deal with the climate crisis. The unwillingness to solve this problem is not only the result of a lack of political will, but it has also been caused by the emergence of a new political environment dangerously hostile to reason, knowledge, and facts. In the long-term, this poses a threat to the very basis of American democracy: the ability of a well-informed citizenry to use the rule of reason to hold government accountable.

This Assault on Reason is the focus of my new book that goes on sale today. You can purchase the book at your local bookstore or by visiting:

http://www.amazon.com/Assault-Reason-Al-Gore/dp/1594201226

When George Bush launched his preemptive war in Iraq, more than 70% of Americans believed Saddam Hussein was linked to the terrorists who caused 9-11. After the 2004 election, when asked what stuck in their minds about the campaign, voters in Ohio named two ads playing to the fears of terrorism paid for by the Bush Campaign. One pattern that has held true since 2001 is that this White House is less interested in openness and truth than any previous administration.

We are facing so many long-term challenges, from the climate crisis and the war in Iraq to health care and social welfare. To solve these problems and move forward we need to reverse the damage done to our democracy. We have little time to waste.

My goal in The Assault on Reason is to explore why our public forum now welcomes the enemies of reason. More importantly, the book focuses on what we can do together, individually and collectively, to restore the rule of reason to our democracy.

You can purchase The Assault on Reason by visiting:

http://www.amazon.com/Assault-Reason-Al-Gore/dp/1594201226

My team will be emailing those of you who live in the cities that I will visit for book signings. I hope that I’ll have the chance to see you in person.

I’ll be back in touch soon.

Thank You,

Al Gore

Al Gore

Actions

Information

9 responses

29 05 2007
John Feeney

I was interested to see today that Michael Moore (who the right in the US hates with a passion, making it clear what a great guy he is 🙂 ) says he hopes Gore enters the presidential race. A couple of days ago, though, I heard Gore interviewed on National Public Radio, and he really sounded like he didn’t plan to run. Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

29 05 2007
John Feeney

Oops, I meant to add the relevant link:

http://www.alternet.org/blogs/video/#52438

30 05 2007
Verdurous

He may not run. In my head, I realise that there is the potential for Gore to be smeared and misrepresented by the facile, sound-bite driven television news media. In my heart though, I dearly wish for him to become your president. Much of the Western world (including many traditional allies) is utterly perplexed at America’s actions (and inactions) in the past decade (as they are about my country). Gore stands head and shoulders above present presidential candidates. He has intellectual fire-power, wisdom, experience, a cool head and a deep love of his country. He also has an extensive knowledge of US history. Such a contrast with the present White House occupant. But unless his attackers begin to play the ball instead of the man, there is remains a potential for mockery, derision and tom-foolery.

Oh, I’ll try and check that link soon when my monthly bandwidth usage gets re-set. I’m up against a harsh download limit on a new HDPA network up here in the Torres Strait. The main carrier has no opposition (and can’t get ADSL or cable either) so I’m paying a fortune. Alternet looks like a great site though.

1 06 2007
John Feeney

On the other hand, I did read on someone’s blog (not sure who… I was just surfing around some links) that they’d been to a function where Gore spoke and afterwards shook hands with him and said, ‘Please at least consider running.’ And he said, ‘I am.’ So maybe there’s still a chance. On the plus side, of the other Democratic front runners I think an of them would be a huge improvement on Bush.

4 06 2007
Verdurous

Hey, you’ve given me hope John. Gore/Obama would be unbeatable but I doubt Obama would fold under Gore’s wing like that. You’re right though that either Hillary or Obama would be much better than what you guys have now. I can’t help but think Hillary is driven by lust for power rather than any compelling internal drive to help people. Maybe this is a misrepresentation created by the media. Wow, wasn’t Bush great at undermining international processes and the Kyoto framework this week? What the hell are aspirational targets anyway?

7 06 2007
John Feeney

Verdurous,

I replied yesterday, but I think it’s in your spam filter. Akismet’s been a little overzealous for a day or so. :-/ (If not, I think I actually saved a copy in my email.)

7 06 2007
Verdurous

John,

Something must have gone wrong when you pushed on “submit”. There’s no spam in the Akismet catcher. I know how aggravating it is to write something twice. It happens to me a lot ! Couple of times I’ve written lengthy emails on a webmail service and then lost it all right near the end. I usually am so dsigusted I have to shut down the pc and walk away before I do physical damage to the thing. Nevertheless, maybe you could try and give me a brief repeat of the comment. At any rate, how do you save comments in your email. Is that done through using feedburner? Or does wordpress.org hosted software allow that?

8 06 2007
John Feeney

Nah, I just noticed that it didn’t appear when I submitted (which is what happens sometimes when they’re blocked by Akismet), so I hit the “back” button, went back to it, and copy pasted it into an email draft, just in case. (I often use my email drafts as a place to save temporary documents, bits of text, etc.) So here it is:

Yeah, I do think Gore/Obama would be very, very strong. But, as you point out, it would take Gore going ahead and running, and Obama agreeing to the vice president role. Probably not a likely combination, but hey, it’s worth hoping. 🙂

I’m a little leery of Hillary too, even more so since she said something recently that was more or less supportive of Bush’s view of the “war on terror.”

And Bush, well, what can you say about him? 👿

8 06 2007
Verdurous

Bush’s arrogance at the G8 this week has been matched only by our own PM”s back here.

Leave a Reply

